FUNKDAFIED! Da Brat Is Back And In Full Effect!

 

In the last 30 months, the first African-American was elected president of The United States, the “King of Pop,” Michael Jackson, suddenly passed away and our country entered and emerged from the second Great Depression … Now, imagine missing all of that. Da Brat knows the feeling all to well. We spoke on the phone less than 24 hours after her release from a Georgia prison.

Born Shawntae Harris, the Chicago native has officially completed her two-and-a-half-year sentence for aggravated assault stemming from the a 2007 incident in which the rapper hit a nightclub waitress in the face with a bottle of alcohol. Although there are many things she regrets about that night, according to Brat, this incident was destined to happen to her.

“I think I was supposed to sit down,” a very resolute Brat said from her Atlanta home where she’s begun serving six months house arrest. “I believe everything happens for a reason. [I’m] not saying the incident was ok, but I believe this was God’s way of trying to get my attention. My temper was terrible. So if it wasn’t this, it would’ve been something else.”

So what changes someone who suddenly goes from television shows to prison? Turns out it’s a combination of a whole lot, and nothing at all.

Well, first of all, welcome home! After two and a half years, what’s the first thing you did after being released from prison?

(Laughs) Everyone’s asking me that! Honestly, I went and got a steak and some FRESH vegetables. See, in jail, they don’t serve you anything fresh. So I couldn’t wait to have some fresh produce. So, I ate, saw some of my people and just rode around in the limo for a second, taking it all in.

Now, you’re on house arrest for 6 months, then, probation for the next 7 years. How does that make you feel? Do you still feel incarcerated?

No. I feel grateful. I’m out. So, I’m grateful. But it does effect a LOT. I can’t fly to make appearances [on house arrest], I can’t fly to shows … I’m used to being able to get up and travel for work, and I can’t do any of that right now. JD is sending over some studio equipment now, so I’m gonna have to get real familiar and do everything from here.

Hip-hop has changed a lot, especially in the last few years. What’s the biggest difference to you?

It’s so poppy right now. Everything sounds so much like pop. I miss the lyricism. I miss really hot bars. I miss Biggie, Nas, Jay—I mean Jay’s still doing his thing, but it’s different.

Did you write a lot while you were away?

NO! I couldn’t write at ALL. I wasn’t inspired to write anything, I was so cut off. Completely isolated. I called it Mayberry. You couldn’t get anything with a parental advisory sticker on it. Eventually, my boy found a way around it. But, even then, I need to be able to bump the music, hear it in the speakers. I can’t write to headphones.

While you were gone, BET aired an interesting documentary entitled My Mic Sounds Nice about the lack of female presence in Hip Hop. You were the very first female MC to ever go platinum. Do you have any theories about what’s happening? Why the game has changed so much?

I’ve been trying to figure this out long before I got locked up. I kind of agree with JD. It really comes down to labels not believing in female artists anymore. And that’s sad and unfortunate for us because there are some great, lyrical artists out there that are being overlooked.

What do you think of Nicki Minaj? She’s taken a lot of criticism, are you a fan?

I mean I don’t really know her story. But I’m happy for her. I know how I started out, I was hungry just waiting on that chance and she’s probably the same way—been rhyming her whole life. So I’m happy she finally got on. Let that girl rock!

Are there any artists or producers who have come up while you were gone that you’d like to work with? Anyone pique your interest?

You know, I really like Kevin McCall, from Chris Browns “Deuces.’’ First of all, he’s cute as shit! And, he’s real lyrical. So, I’d like to work with him … And Wayne. He’s not new, but I love Lil’ Wayne. He’s a great lyrical artist. Have to respect him.

Jermaine Dupri said he was unable to visit you in prison because he couldn’t “see you that way.” How’d that make you feel?

I know JD. He and I talked all the time. He wrote me. And I had a lot of visitors: Nick and Mariah came, Katt Williams came a few times … I had visitors every single weekend I was there. So, I always had someone. And, at the end of the day, I understood that JD just couldn’t see his little sister locked up. But, I know he loves me so no hard feelings at ALL.

You said you believe this happened for a reason. So, what have you learned? And, how will this change you as an artist?

I’m wiser. I’m smarter. I’ve learned not to take things for granted. As far as my music, I’m still Da Brat. I’m just hungrier. I can’t wait to get going. I’ve got a lot going on right now. I’ve got a book coming, a reality show. But, first I just can’t wait to drop a hot 16 and go from there

[via: necole bitchie]

About ThoroBred

Mikki Rey Gender: Female Astrological Sign: Cancer Industry: Communications or Media Location: Cleveland : Ohio : United States Urban Fictionalist - writer, thinker, doer. Healer. Light seeker. Truth Finder.

Posted on March 15, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. My post went to the wrong article. But I’m still glad DaBrat is back.

Leave a Reply

